Friday, November 4, 2011

Unidentified by Rae Mariz Review

The Unidentified
By Rae Mariz

Oct. 5, 2010
Balzer + Bray, 304 pages
Source: Library

Fifteen-year-old Katey (aka Kid) goes to school in the Game—a mall converted into a “school” run by corporate sponsors. As the students play their way through the levels, they are also creating products and being used for market research by the sponsors, who are watching them 24/7 on video cameras.

Kid has a vague sense of unease but doesn’t question this existence until one day she witnesses a shocking anticorporate prank. She follows the clues to uncover the identities of the people behind it and discovers an anonymous group that calls itself the Unidentified. Intrigued by their counterculture ideas and enigmatic leader, Kid is drawn into the group. But when the Unidentified’s pranks and even Kid’s own identity are co-opted by the sponsors, Kid decides to do something bigger—something that could change the Game forever.

This funny, sharp, and thought-provoking novel heralds the arrival of a stunning new voice in teen fiction.


— Amazon.com description

A dark and twisted future that seems eerily possible? HELLO, count me in. I love this type of book, and I hope teens do too.

The Unidentified frightens and fascinates simultaneously and SHOULD give you the heebie-jeebies. It got me feeling all It’s a Wonderful Life-y. By the end, you want to change your very bad habits, toss away your iPhone, shun commercialism and do anything you can to prevent this sort of future from happening.

LOVE!

It’s a debut novel that took me awhile to get into, but I felt that themes of conformity and technological dependence grew over the course of the story and kept me hooked. Fans of Awaken, The Adoration of Jenna Fox and XVI will enjoy! A great addition to this genre.

Anna Reads young adult book blog

5 comments:

  1. I actually think the cover is pretty great. It's so intriguing!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks for sharing this one Anna, I have not ever seen it before. It sounds like something I would love though. I can not thrown away my iPhone though, I love it! *Pets my precious*

    ReplyDelete
  3. Get rid of my iPhone? Yes, that sounds quite terrifying indeed. That alone gives me the heebie jeebies.

    ReplyDelete
  4. WOW! This sounds right up my alley. Adding it to my to-read list!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I read this one a while ago. I wasn't amazed by it, but I thought it was pretty good. Well, except the ending. I don't remember what it was, but I remember the feeling of closing the book and thinking the ending wasn't my favorite :P

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...